Skip to main content


  • M. Sami (Director)
    String inspired cosmology, Dark energy, Inflation
  • Sushant Ghosh
    Black holes, Gravitational collapse
  • Sanjay Jhingan (on long leave)
    Classical General Relativity, Gravitational Waves, Astrophysics, Cosmology
  • Anjan Ananda Sen
    Gravitation, Astroparticle Physics and Cosmology
  • Rathin Adhikari
    Phenomenology of elementary particles, Baryogenesis & Dark matter, Supersymmetric QM
  • Tabish Qureshi
    Foundation of Quantum Mechanics, Entanglement

M.A. Ansari Chair in Theoretical Physics

  • Naresh Dadhich (2012-2016)
    Classical & Quantum General Relativity, Braneworld Cosmologies, Wormholes

UGC Emeritus Fellow

Visiting Professor

  • Afsar Abbas
    Nuclear physics
  • Q.N. Usmani
    Excited nuclei, nuclear interactions, nuclear matter, quantum liquids

Adjunct Professor

Honorary Visiting Faculty

Honorary Visiting Faculty members are like adjunct faculty members of the Centre, who visit the Centre for an extended period, at a time of their choice, and involve in research collaborations and teaching special courses.

  • Dr. Maria A. Skugoreva, People's Friendship University, Russia
  • Prof. Ernest Ma, Physics & Astronomy Department, University of California, USA
  • Prof. R. Dutt, Retired Professor, Department of Physics, Visva Bharati University, Santiniketan
  • Prof. Arun K. Pati, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad
  • Dr. Indranil Chakrabarty, International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad
  • Prof. Bobomurat Ahmedov, Institute of Nuclear Physics, Academy of Sciences of Uzbekistan, Tashkent, Uzbekistan,